top of page

The Evolution of High Dynamic Range Technology: Dolby Vision, HDR10, and HDR10+

As the world of technology continues to advance, the demand for higher quality video content is increasing rapidly. One significant breakthrough that has enhanced our viewing experiences is High Dynamic Range (HDR) technology. It allows us to perceive more detail in the darkest and lightest areas of a picture, mimicking the way our eyes naturally view the world. The dominant HDR standards are Dolby Vision, HDR10, and HDR10+. This article will delve into the history and technology of these three standards.

High Dynamic Range (HDR)
The term "dynamic range" refers to the difference between the lightest and darkest parts of an image. In a traditional standard dynamic range (SDR) display, this range is relatively limited. However, with HDR technology, this range can be significantly broadened, providing a more vibrant, realistic, and visually appealing image.

Dolby Vision
Dolby Vision, introduced by Dolby Laboratories in 2014, was one of the first HDR formats to enter the market. It was designed to bring cinema-grade quality to home screens, and it achieves this by using dynamic metadata and providing a higher color depth and brightness level than other HDR formats.

Dolby Vision supports a color depth of 12 bits, which equates to over 68 billion colors, as opposed to the 1 billion colors provided by a 10-bit color depth. Furthermore, it supports peak brightness levels of up to 10,000 nits, though most content currently is mastered for 4,000 nits or lower.

The key differentiator for Dolby Vision is its use of dynamic metadata. This metadata, attached to each frame of video, informs the display how to present the color and brightness for that specific frame. This dynamic adaptation allows Dolby Vision to optimize the HDR effect scene-by-scene, or even frame-by-frame, resulting in an incredibly immersive viewing experience.

Released in 2015, HDR10 was developed as an open standard HDR format by the Consumer Technology Association. It was adopted by major industry players, including Samsung, Sony, and LG, and it became the mandatory HDR format for the Ultra HD Blu-ray disc format.

HDR10 supports a 10-bit color depth, which is still a significant step up from the 8-bit color depth used in traditional HDTVs. It also supports peak brightness levels up to 1,000 nits. However, unlike Dolby Vision, HDR10 uses static metadata.

Static metadata, set at the start of a video, applies the same HDR settings across the entire video. This means that while the overall video will look improved compared to SDR, there may be some scenes that are too dark or too light because they cannot be individually optimized.

HDR10+ was developed by Samsung and introduced in 2017 as an enhanced version of HDR10. It was designed to compete with Dolby Vision, offering dynamic metadata capabilities while remaining an open standard, unlike the proprietary Dolby Vision.

HDR10+ supports the same 10-bit color depth and peak brightness level of 1,000 nits as HDR10. However, like Dolby Vision, it utilizes dynamic metadata, allowing it to optimize HDR settings on a scene-by-scene or frame-by-frame basis. This results in a more detailed and accurate HDR experience when compared to HDR10.

The development of Dolby Vision, HDR10, and HDR10+ has profoundly changed the way we consume video content, offering a much richer and immersive viewing experience. While they each have their own strengths and weaknesses, they all aim to provide an enhanced, lifelike viewing experience that's closer to how we see the world with our own eyes. As HDR technology continues to evolve, we can expect an even more vivid and true-to-life representation of color and light on our screens in the future.

Last Updated: 5/20/2023

bottom of page